2. NEWS
  3. Canada Expands Visa-Free Travel to Include 13 Additional Countries


Stay up-to-date on immigration news for the latest developments

Canada Expands Visa-Free Travel to Include 13 Additional Countries

On June 6, 2023, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) announced the inclusion of 13 additional countries in the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program. 

Individuals from these countries who have held a Canadian visa within the past 10 years or currently have a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now opt for an eTA instead of a visa when flying to Canada. This change, effective immediately, grants eligible travellers from the following countries the opportunity to benefit from the program:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Implementing visa-free travel will expedite and simplify the process for thousands of visitors to stay in Canada for up to 6 months, whether for business or leisure purposes. Moreover, it will contribute to the growth of Canada’s economy by facilitating increased travel, tourism, and international business interactions, while prioritizing the safety of Canadians.

Additionally, this decision will alleviate the visa application workload by diverting a significant number of applications from Canada’s visa caseload. This redirection will allow for more efficient processing of visa applications, which will benefit all individuals seeking visas.

Those who already have a valid visa can continue using it for travel to Canada. Individuals who do not qualify for an eTA or are travelling to Canada through means other than air (e.g., car, bus, train, boat—including cruise ships) will still require a visitor visa. To determine eTA eligibility and learn how to apply, travellers can visit Canada.ca/eTA.

Latest posts